Reviews

5 Stars Big swing, big reward

from OH on 2/12/2015 12:00:00 AM wrote:

I am a 5.0 player, and used the Yonex RQiS 1 Tour for years. I decided to try a new racket, and bought the Pure Strike. I take a big cut at the ball on the forehand and backhand side, and I did not find it leaving me short at all. If I did not take a big swing, or covered the ball too much, it fell short. Simply put: swing big and this racket is a dream. On serve, I really enjoyed the amount of control I got and a little extra pop and action on slice serves. The control I had on traditional volleys was amazing. Even touch volleys worked well.

5 Stars Solid

from MI on 12/26/2014 12:00:00 AM wrote:

This racket has solid feel, good spin and easy to maneuver for a heavier racket. Serves had more than enough spin, feels great and was easy to locate the serve. Ground strokes and return were easy, racket just plows through hard hitting balls. Spin was better than expected and has a soft feel and good control. Volley's is were I just loved this racket. It is heavier, but that is what felt so great. Serving and Volleying the racket just plowed through and had great pop on each and every shot. This is a great racket for those who like heavier rackets.

5 Stars Awesome!

from NJ on 11/25/2014 12:00:00 AM wrote:

I'm about 4.0 player and play at least once a wk. I've used aero pro drive about 3yrs and also tried pure drive and I find this one to be the best fit for me. First, I wasn't sure about using 98 sq in which I've never used before but I figured it should make too much difference. My first swing with this racquet I hit a canon shot with no shock to my arm. It was so much powerful than my previous racquets that I had to adjust my swing. Overall, i love it !! Pro - light, powerful, excellent maneuvering ability at the net, great for power service. Con - nothing so far other than the color scheme on this racquet does not look attractive as other babolat racquet lines such as aero, pure drive, and etc.

4 Stars Good, modern baseline stick

from DC on 10/30/2014 12:00:00 AM wrote:

This babo is not like others. It feels like there is a blend of Head IG in this one, as it plays more dampened than expected, but with very good power. It feels like a frame that can accept a variety of different strings without problems and it can accommodate many different playing styles. Very stable for its weight, with an impressive hoop. What I liked mostly is that you can get easy depth on all shots; the grip also feels better than what you would find in other, older racquets from the same company. I would consider this one very seriously if my game was less all-court and more baseline-based. It's weird how we now have to include a Babolat frame to our demo list, after some of the Wilson PS line sticks and most of the Head Graphene racquets have become crisp in feel !

5 Stars Excellent racquet

from FL on 8/8/2014 12:00:00 AM wrote:

I am solid 4.0 player looking to add more versatility to my game and this racquet did just that. Superb control and excellent spin when needed. Smooth and solid feel upon impact, very precise shot making. Definitely will improve your game. If you are demoing you MUST try this racquet. I use it with ADDICTON string... and I amaze myself at times !!

5 Stars Fantastic

from NY on 6/15/2014 12:00:00 AM wrote:

Broke a prestige pro and wanted to try something new but close to it. Saw the racket and loved the design. Played it yesterday, fantastic! More forgiving than PP, more control and more pop at the serve. Liked the volley a lot. Super racket, i am sticking to it.

5 Stars good overall racket

from TX on 6/7/2014 12:00:00 AM wrote:

Good solid racket. I didn't like it for the 1st hour of hitting - the sweet spot felt too small & the racket felt so underpowered compared to my blade 98 & was about to give up on it. On my next outing, I was able to adjust to the feel & launch angle & it started clicking. Serves have good control & pace but not as much pop as a pure drive or blade 98. It has a nice soft, flexy feel which gave good touch & control from the baseline & net. I liked it much better than the 18X20 version which felt underpowered with a smaller sweetspot while it still had nearly as much control. I like the blend of feel while still having the ability to hit with pace. I've been going through many rackets lately (pure drive, aeropro, blade 98, yonex Ai98, babolat pure control, head speed pro, graphene radical pro) & find this racket to fit my game. This racket reminds me of my liquidmetal radical but allows me to serve much better maybe due to having a little more mass in the upper hoop.

5 Stars Very Versatile Racket

from GA on 5/20/2014 12:00:00 AM wrote:

I started playing tennis within the last year and purchased an entry level Babolat racket. As I improved my game, I also needed to improve my racket. My local shop has a demo program so I took advantage of trying any and every brand, weight, head size etc. After about 20-30 demos over the period of 3-4 months, I narrowed the choices down to Wilson 99s, Babolat Pure Strike 16x19 and the 18x20 version. I believe the Wilson also shares a 16x19 string pattern, with a similar spin, however I had a lot of issues volleys and since my focus moving forward is doubles, I decided against the Wilson. The 18x20 had all the same pros for me as the 16x19 minus the spin, and as I am shifting my focus away from power and into control / spin, I decided against that racket as well. The 16x19 racket has amazing spin, control and can really save shots I normally would not have made with another racket. From an aesthetics perspective, it's probably one of the most eye-catching rackets available in the Babolat line.